Directing for a first time

It’s well-established that the majority of directors and writers in the film industry are men. In fact, for the 700 top-grossing films in 2014, only 13% of directors were women. 

It then may come as a surprise then that Chloë Sevigny,an actress and former model, is making her directorial debut with the short Kitty a film based on a short story by Paul Bowles.

Speaking to Refinery 29, Sevigny explains why she, at first, wanted to keep from being in the spotlight of directing:

“Of course I was always heard, having been in the public eye. People always want you to say more, but it was almost like I wanted to hide more as a result. People wanted me to speak as a voice of a generation, and I had no interest in doing that. I didn’t want that responsibility.” — Chloë Sevigny

In an interview with Paste Magazine, Sevigny talked about creating another short film, and explained that she has a preferred way for directing a film:

“I just made a second short film in Portland. It was all improvised and loosey-goosey, and I think I prefer the mannerisms of Kitty, having it more plotted out. I feel more comfortable in that space.”

Kitty, a story about a young girl transforming into a cat, released late November.

 

Leave a Reply

